Members & Bios

Knight Commission photo


Carol A. Cartwright
President Emeritus, Kent State University and Bowling Green State University

Arne Duncan
Former U.S. Secretary of Education


Val Ackerman
Commissioner, Big East Conference

Scott Cowen
President Emeritus and Distinguished University Chair, Tulane University

John J. DeGioia
President, Georgetown University

Leonard J. Elmore
Television Basketball Analyst and Attorney

Walter Harrison
President Emeritus, University of Hartford

Janet Hill
Principal, Hill Family Advisors and Trustee, Duke University

Christopher Howard
President, Robert Morris University

Angela Hucles
Past President, Women's Sports Foundation

Derek Kerr
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, American Airlines

Penelope Ward Kyle
President Emeritus, Radford University

Sarah Lowe
Second Vice President, United States Liability Insurance Group (USLI), former women's basketball player, University of Florida

Jonathan Mariner
Former EVP and CFO of Major League Baseball

Anna Spangler Nelson
Chairman, Spangler Companies Inc.; trustee, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; member, UNC Board of Governors

G.P. "Bud" Peterson
President, Georgia Institute of Technology

David Robinson
Co-founder and Principal, Admiral Capital Group

Myron Rolle
Medical Student, Florida State University

Paul Tagliabue
Senior of Counsel, Covington & Burling LLP 
Former NFL Commissioner

Nicholas Zeppos
Chancellor, Vanderbilt University

Nancy Zimpher
Chancellor Emeritus, State University of New York


Member, Ex-Officio
Alberto Ibargüen
President and CEO, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation


Founding Co-Chairs (photo)
Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.
President Emeritus, The University of Notre Dame, founding Co-Chair, 1989-2001

William C. Friday
President Emeritus, University of North Carolina, founding Co-Chair, 1989-2005


Past Chairs/Co-Chairs

Thomas K. Hearn Jr. – Chair, February 2005 – May 2006
Clifton R. Wharton Jr. – Co-chair, May 2006 – April 2007
R. Gerald Turner – Co-chair, May 2006 – Dec. 31, 2015
William E. “Brit” Kirwan – Co-chair, April 2007 – Dec. 31, 2015; Chair, Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2016


Amy P. Perko
Chief Executive Officer

Scott Hirko
Associate, Communications and Research

Jeff Orleans