Knight Commission


Pamela Bernard
Vice President & General Counsel, Duke University

Len Elmore
Attorney, Television Commentator, Former NBA Player and Former Men’s Basketball Player, University of Maryland


Jonathan Alger
President, James Madison University

Dr. Eric Barron
President Emeritus, Pennsylvania State University

Beth Brooke
Director, The New York Times Company, eHealth, Lehigh Valley Health Network, SHEEX, and
The United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee (USOPC)

Dr. Christine Copper
Faculty Athletics Representative and Professor, United States Naval Academy

Dr. Wayne Frederick
President Emeritus, Howard University

Dr. Kim Harmon
Professor, Section Head of the Sports Medicine Section, University of Washington School of Medicine

Dr. Christopher Howard
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Arizona State University; Former Football Player, United States Air Force Academy

Amy Huchthausen
Chief Operating Officer, Stavvy

Derek Kerr
Former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, American Airlines

Shanteona Keys
Educator and Head Girls Basketball Coach, Cambridge High School, Former Women’s Basketball Player, Georgia College

Jonathan Mariner
Former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Major League Baseball

Jacques McClendon
Vice President, Football Coaching Operations at WME Sports

Jessica Mendoza
Television Analyst, ESPN; former Softball All-American, Stanford University

Kim Ng
Former Major League Baseball Team General Manager

Dr. Judy Olian
President, Quinnipiac University

Charles Olson
Trustee, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Jill Pilgrim
Managing Attorney, Pilgrim & Associates Arbitration, Law & Mediation LLC

Peter Roby
Former Director of Athletics and Recreation, Northeastern University, Senior Consultant to the NCAA

Kendall Spencer
Georgetown University Law Graduate, Former NCAA Board Member and Former Men’s Track and Field Athlete, University of New Mexico


Member, Ex-Officio

Maribel Pérez Wadsworth
President and CEO, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation


Founding Co-Chairs (photo)

Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.
President Emeritus, The University of Notre Dame, Founding Co-Chair, 1989-2001

William C. Friday
President Emeritus, University of North Carolina, Founding Co-Chair, 1989-2005


Past Chairs/Co-Chairs

  • Thomas K. Hearn Jr. – Chair, February 2005 – May 2006
  • Clifton R. Wharton Jr. – Co-Chair, May 2006 – April 2007
  • R. Gerald Turner – Co-Chair, May 2006 – Dec. 31, 2015
  • William E. “Brit” Kirwan – Co-Chair, April 2007 – Dec. 31, 2015; Chair, Jan. 1, 2016 – Dec. 31, 2016
  • Dr. Carol A. Cartwright – Co-Chair, Jan. 1, 2017 – Dec. 31, 2020
  • Dr. Nancy L. Zimpher – Co-Chair, Jan. 1, 2021 – Dec. 31, 2022
  • Arne Duncan – Co-Chair, Jan. 1, 2016 – Dec. 31, 2023



Amy Privette Perko
Chief Executive Officer



Managing Director for Strategic Initiatives
Sandy Hatfield Clubb
President, The PICTOR Group

JoJo Rinebold
Principal, The Rinebold Company

Todd Turner
Founder & President, Collegiate Sports Associates

Gabe Feldman
Director of the Tulane Sports Law Program and Tulane University’s Associate Provost for NCAA Compliance